HISTORY OF WINE

Wine made with Care and Passion

Our wine is produced with care by talented winemakers from grapes that are picked from rich vineyards with local and international varieties adjusted to the local terroir. It expresses the authenticity and traditional style of winemaking for consumers who are looking for adventure.

MOLDOVA

Moldova - The grape country

Moldova is located in southeastern Europe, between Ukraine and Romania, in the Black Sea area, where the vine originates. Already the shape of Moldova on the map resembles a bunch of grapes. Its picturesque landscape is characterized by soft green hills, sunny plateaus and small streams that flow into the two major rivers Prut and Dniester. Moldova has a temperate-continental climate, softened by the nearby Black Sea. Located at latitude 46-47˚, as well as other famous wine regions in Europe, the soils of southern Moldova are particularly well suited for the production of high quality red wine, while in the heart of the country predominantly white wine is grown.

Moldova has 112,000 hectares of vineyards with over 50 different grape varieties. There are three historic wine regions: Valul lui Traian (in the southwest), Stefan Voda (in the southeast) and Codru (in the middle), which, with their favorable geological and climatic conditions, are ideal for wine production.

Winemaker generations

The wine history of Moldova begins 3000 years BC, while the first wines in the region was
already 7000 years BC reported. Earlier, wine was used as a medium of exchange and presented as a trophy after fighting, which has made it a national product of the Republic of Moldova.

Outstanding personalities
of the Moldavian viticulture

Dimitrie Cantemir  

(1673-1723)
Ruler of the Republic of Moldova, philosopher, encyclopedist

Tsar Alexander II of Russia

Tsar Alexander II of Russia (1855 – 1881).

Constantin Mimi 

(1868 – 1935) 
Governor of Bessarabia, winemaker.

Petru Ungurean 

(1894-1975)
Scientist, oenologist and founder of the Scientific Oenological School.

Moldova is also affectionately known as "grape land" - not only because the shape of its map resembles that of a grape, but also because wine-making is deeply rooted in the history and tradition of the country. Fossils of grape leaves found near the village of Naslavcia in northern Moldova suggest, that grapes grew in Moldova about 6 to 25 million years ago and that wine production in the area between the rivers Nistru and Prut already 4000 - 5000 years ago began.

What gives Moldavian wine its special character and taste? It is the uniquely fertile soil conditions that provide a wide range of interesting wines. The soil is the most important natural resource of the Republic of Moldova. One hectare of agricultural land has one of the highest monetary values in Europe. The high-quality Moldovan soils can be compared to the richest soils in the world, for example in the Krasnodar region in Russia and in the Nappa Valley in the USA.

0

WEINGESCHICHTE

Weinbau mit Sorgfalt und Leidenschaft

Unsere Weine werden mit grösster Sorgfalt von talentierten Winzern hergestellt. Die ausgewählten Trauben stammen aus den reichhaltigen Weinbergen mit heimischen und internationalen Rebsorten, die sich an die lokalen Böden und das moldawische Klima angepasst haben. Sie spiegeln die Authentizität und die traditionelle Art der Weinherstellung wider – für Kunden, die ein Abenteuer suchen.

MOLDOVA

Moldawien – Das Weintraubenland

Moldawien liegt in Südosteuropa, zwischen der Ukraine und Rumänien, im Schwarzmeergebiet, wo die Rebe ihren Ursprung hat. Bereits die Form Moldawiens auf der Landkarte ähnelt einer Weintraube. Seine malerische Landschaft ist geprägt von sanften grünen Hügeln, sonnigen Hochebenen und kleinen Bächen, die in die beiden grossen Flüsse Prut und Dniester münden. Moldawien hat ein gemässigt-kontinentales Klima, das durch das nahe Schwarze Meer abgemildert wird. Auf Breitengrad 46-47˚ liegend, ebenso, wie andere berühmte Weinbaugebiete in Europa, eignen sich die Böden im südlichen Moldawien besonders gut für die Produktion von hochwertigem Rotwein, während im Herzen des Landes überwiegend Weisswein angebaut wird.

Moldawien verfügt über 112.000 Hektar an Weinbergen mit über 50 verschiedenen Rebsorten. Dabei gibt es drei historische Weinregionen: Valul lui Traian (im Südwesten), Stefan Voda (im Südosten) und Codru (in der Mitte), die mit ihren günstigen geologischen und klimatischen Voraussetzungen wie geschaffen für die Weinherstellung sind.

Winzer Generationen

Die Weingeschichte Moldawiens beginnt 3000 Jahre v. Chr., während von den ersten Weinen in der Region bereits 7000 Jahre v. Chr. berichtet wurde. Früher wurde Wein als Tauschmittel verwendet und als Trophäe nach Kämpfen überreicht, was ihn zu einem Nationalprodukt der Republik Moldau gemacht hat.

Herausragende Persönlichkeiten des moldawischen Weinbaus

Dimitrie Cantemir  

(1673-1723)
Herrscher der Republik Moldau, Philosoph, Enzyklopädist 

Tsar Alexander II of Russia

Tsar Alexander II of Russia (1855 – 1881).

Constantin Mimi 

(1868 - 1935)
Gouverneur von Basserabien, Winzer.

Petru Ungurean 

(1894-1975)
Wissenschaftler, Önologe und Gründer der Wissenschaftlichen Önologischen Schule.

Moldawien wird liebevoll auch “Traubenland” genannt – nicht nur, weil die Form seiner Landkarte einer Traube ähnelt, sondern auch, weil die Weinherstellung tief in der Geschichte und der Tradition des Landes verwurzelt ist. Fossilien von Weinblättern, die in der Nähe des Dorfes Naslavcia im Norden Moldawiens gefunden wurden, deuten darauf hin, dass Trauben in Moldawien schon vor etwa 6 bis 25 Millionen Jahren wuchsen und die Weinherstellung in der Gegend zwischen den Flüssen Nistru und Prut bereits vor 4000-5000 Jahren begann.

Was verleiht dem moldawischen Wein seinen besonderen Charakter und Geschmack? Es sind die einzigartig fruchtbaren Bodenverhältnisse, die für ein breites Spektrum an interessanten Weinen sorgen. Der Boden ist das wichtigste Naturgut der Republik Moldau. Ein Hektar landwirtschaftlicher Nutzfläche hat einen der höchsten monetären Werte in Europa. Die hochwertigen moldawischen Böden lassen sich mit den reichsten Böden der Welt vergleichen, zum Beispiel in  der Region Krasnodar in Russland und im kalifornischen Nappa Valley in den USA.

0